Scicomm & Science writing

Stem cell dentistry – my first trip into science writing!

I’ve always loved science and always seen myself doing something science related as a career! Obviously during the rough times and bad days doing my PhD, I’ve toyed with the idea that I wouldn’t want to be at the lab bench forever and loved the idea of being a scientific writer – although what that actually meant I wasn’t completely sure!

So browsing through Twitter I come across a science magazine called Signal to Noise magazine and jumped on the opportunity to actually give writing a science article for the public a go!

The US team were really helpful and after 2 months of pitching, research, writing, emails and editing – the final product is published and I am super proud of the article I have produced.

So if you want to find out what your future trips to the dentist could be like, take a look at my article here.

I would love to hear your thoughts and get some feedback! Thanks guys and gals!
S.x

8 thoughts on “Stem cell dentistry – my first trip into science writing!”

  1. I’ve always wanted to try my hand at science writing outside of my blog. Perhaps I should give them a look…

    Anyway, about your article – I like the fact that the last half is you showing that it’s not *just* stem cells that will save the day (well, the teeth anyway), but it’s how various areas of small-scale bioengineering come together. Scientific research need not be so compartmentalized (and yet it’s sometimes stereotyped as such), and you illustrated how that could work.

    It’s good stuff, your article.

    1. Definitely give them a look! They are really helpful if you’re not sure what to write about etc! See what you think! I definitely enjoyed the experience!

      Thank you for your comments on my article – its great to get some feedback!

Leave a Reply

