Uncategorized

The Soph talks science! Highlights 2016.

Well, here it is – my last blog post of 2016!

The last day of the year always seems to be a time where we reflect and take a look back at what we’ve achieved this year, what we didn’t do so well at and how we can improve on that with the imminent fresh start of new year approaching.

I will remember 2016 as the year that I started my science blog (well, properly anyway!), the year I was inspired by so many other scientists around the world to get involved in scicomm and inspire others and the year I started to believe in myself as an actual real life scientist!

So, I thought there was no better way just to take a quick look back at some of the posts I’ve written this year and in case you enjoyed a particular post and wanted to look back at it.

Some of my favourite posts this year have aimed to break the stereotype of what the public think a scientist is. I have spoken to girls who love make up, girls who do crossfit and girls who live for wine and cheese 😛 but the one thing they have in common is that they are all scientists! Learn a little bit more about  what Jess, Sophie and Lisa get up to in and out of the lab but just remember that scientists are not just nerds – they have so many different talents and interests. I love this feature and there will be many more of these posts throughout 2017.

Talking to fellow PhD students, they often day that there was not much information on what life as a PhD student would be like. So, I hoped to fill this gap in the market even a little with my ‘Day in the Life of a PhD student’ and ‘Cellfie of the month’ posts so you could have a look behind the scenes of lab life. Check out Chapter 1., Chapter 2. or August all the way up to December‘s Cellfie. There has also been a few introductions to the everyday essentials I need to do my research. I have loved sharing the little things and the finer details of what I do in my day to day work with you. I hope to build on this in 2017 and use my Instagram and Snapchat to share live videos with you for a more hands on and visual approach.

I have tried my hand at many different blog posts to try and work out what was best for me and my blog – but I thought I would practice my writing by writing a piece for Signal to Noise magazine. I received some great feedback and really boosted my confidence. I was very happy with the end product and wanted to share it with you all here.

But I do think my favourite post of 2016 was the first one all the way back in February! I won a 3 minute thesis competition to describe my PhD thesis to a lay audience in under 3 minutes using a single slide. The comments I got were so much more positive than I ever expected and I really think its helped me as a scientist to help to explain things to others better, so I shared my final product with you.

.

I have loved starting this blog and I am excited to get writing again in the new year. But it wouldn’t be worth it if nobody read my posts, so I want to thank everyone that has read and shared my blog posts this year and hope you have learnt a little something from it too. I hope that support will continue in 2017 and grow further, as I do love clicking on the stats page and seeing what countries in the world I am getting views from – from the US and Canada, to Barbados and Vanuatu and all those in between. I am very grateful.

So thank you! And happy new year!

See you all in 2017 with brand new blog posts and brand new features!

S.x

Leave a Reply

