Science & me

My science New Years Resolutions.

Happy new year!

2017 is here! And now that my New Years Day hangover has finally subsided, it is time to get back to normal and start writing again. So I thought there was no better way to start a new year of blogging than talking about what science New Year’s Resolutions and challenges I have set myself for 2017.

picture1

My science New Years Resolutions 2017:

1. Pass my transfer thesis and viva.

11 days to go until my transfer viva! 11 days until I get grilled by two experts in the field! Slightly nervous about this. Need to get back into a routine and do some revision before the big day, but should be a new year’s resolution that I can tick off quickly if all goes to plan.

2. Get a more regular blog schedule.

Up until now I feel like I’ve just been writing about whatever comes into my head and experimenting with different articles to see what my readers like. Now I think I have my set features and still have room for some other articles if I fancy. The advice I’ve been getting from some other science bloggers is to write often and write about things that your readers will expect to find on your blog. So I need to set a schedule and plan my posts around that to hopefully keep you guys interested! So watch this space for updates on that!

I am very much of a WordPress novice too. So hopefully, someone can teach me a little bit more about customising the layout of my blogs so I can make them a little more personal. I would love a better website layout, better design and need to design a logo – which I would love to collaborate with someone on as I’m not very arty! Get in touch if you would be interested.

3. #365papers.

This one is going to be a bit of a challenge! The idea is to read one scientific journal article for each day of 2017 – and as a slow reader this will take up some time, but I truly believe it is necessary to broaden my reading horizons. However, after browsing through Twitter, there is a call to make this challenge #230papers instead as some poor person has calculated that that is the number of working days in 2017 (not that I’ve checked). But one paper each working day and then the weekend off is something I could fit into my working day much more easily. At least I hope I can. I am ready for the challenge anyway!

4. Get involved in some more scicomm activities.

I’m really enjoying writing this blog and hope to continue to grow it. But I think if I had more experience explaining things to the public in other settings, not only will it be great for me and my CV, but it will help my blog posts and writing. There are already plans in the pipeline to start achieving this goal- there is a Meet the Scientist training day in January which I’ve been exciting to get involved with and I can hopefully get involved with the Pint of Science festival in May. I’m hoping to try more science writing like my first attempt, get writing some guest blogs and doing some snapchat takeovers for a live version of my ‘A day in the life of a PhD student’ posts. I think 2017 is going to be an exciting year for scicomm and me 🙂

5. Get my first paper published.

I want 2017 to be  the year I (finally!) get my first publication. At the moment I need one more set of experiments which I will be delving straight into once we have stem cells up and running again probably at the end of the month. Hopefully it will show me the result I want – but you never know with science :/ And inevitably, my supervisor will come up with another experiment that is needed before I can submit a manuscript but I’m hoping for some good luck that this will be the year!

.

Well, there we have it, the first blog post of 2017 done and my goals for this year all set! I’m very excited to see what this year brings.

What are your science new years resolutions for 2017?

S.x

.

Find me and Soph talks Science on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

5 thoughts on “My science New Years Resolutions.”

  1. You also have great goals! The one paper per day is particularly challenging. Good luck on your transfer viva! Here in Portugal we don’t have this, in my faculty it’s just one Thesis Committee meeting that we have to pass to be able to defend in the future that I already had last year. It’s always great to hear about how PhD works in different countries and unis 🙂 Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

